Diocese of Brentwood

The Diocese of Brentwood

The Diocese of Essex was formed on 22 March 1917 by the division of the Archdiocese of Westminster; and the Diocese of Brentwood was erected by the Bull, Universalis Ecclesiae Procratio, of 20 July 1917.

The Diocese consists of the Administrative County of Essex, the Unitary Authorities of Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock and the London Boroughs of Barking & Dagenham, Havering, Newham, Redbridge and Waltham Forest.

The Rt Rev Alan Williams

Bishop Williams previously served as Director of the Roman Catholic National Shrine at Walsingham where he had overall responsibility for pilgrimage and retreat work. He also served as parish priest at St Lawrence of Canterbury, Sidcup. He is a former Major Superior of the Marist Fathers in England, a post he held from 2000-2008 and has also served as a school teacher and chaplain in secondary schools and Catholic chaplain at Sheffield Hallam University. He has also taught Christian Spirituality at postgraduate level.

Patrons of the Diocese

Our Lady of Lourdes, 11 February

St Edmund of Canterbury, 16 November; St Erconwald, 13 May; St Cedd, 26 October.


Diocese of Brentwood